City Commission

Are you not sure which Commissioner represents your district? Reference the map below to find out which District you live in.

View larger District Map »

City Commission Rules and Procedures

Addressing the Commission

The City of Hobbs is interested in hearing concerns and suggestions from residents and businesses. Citizen input on community issues is truly valued and appreciated. Individuals may address members of the City Commission at official meetings, public hearings or at any other time via telephone, email or written communication.

Open Meetings Law

All meetings of the Hobbs City Commission are held in compliance with the New Mexico Open Meetings Act, Chapter 10, Article 15, NMSA 1978, and pursuant to City of Hobbs Open Meetings Act -Resolution No. 6747

Meeting Procedures

The Hobbs City Commission has adopted Rules of Procedure by ordinance for the Mayor and City Commission and for the conduct of its governing body meetings. View a full copy of the Rules of Procedure here.

City Commission Meetings

The regular meetings of the Hobbs City Commission are held on the first and third Mondays of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the City Commission Chamber at City Hall. Any regular meeting that falls on an observed holiday is held at the same time and place on the next business day or as approved by the City Commission.

All meeting agendas are available on the City’s website at least 72-hours prior to the meeting. The regular meetings, special meetings and work sessions are broadcast live on KHBX FM 99.3 Radio and available for viewing via Livesteam. [Live Video Stream and Archives]

Public Comment at City Commission Meetings

Public comment is permitted at City Commission Meetings. Each member of the public wishing to provide public comment shall register to do so by signing the Public Comment Registration Form located in the Commission Chamber prior to commencement of the meeting.

Inspection of Public Records

The New Mexico Inspection of Public Records Act allows the public access to records maintain by local government with certain limitations. View the Notice of Right to Inspect Public Records here. Request forms are available on the City’s website and will be handled in the manner provided by law.

Contact the Mayor or any City Commissioner:

(575) 397-9200
200 E. Broadway St.
Hobbs, NM


Mayor Sam Cobb
Term of Office: 2016-2020


District 1

Marshall Newman
Term of Office: 2016-2020

District 2

Christopher Mills
Term of Office: 2018-2020

District 3

Patricia Taylor
Term of Office: 2016-2020

District 4

Joseph Calderon
Term of Office: 2018-2022

District 5

Roy Dwayne Penick
Term of Office: 2018-2022

District 6

Don R. Gerth
Term of Office: 2018-2022

Commission Meeting Dates 2019

The Hobbs City Commission meets regularly on the 1st and 3rd Mondays of each month. Regular meetings are held at 6:00 p.m. in the City Commission Chamber at City Hall, 200 East Broadway, Hobbs, New Mexico. Dates are subject to change if the regular meeting date falls on a holiday or as otherwise approved by the City Commission.

Day Date
Tuesday January 7
Tuesday January 22
Monday February 4
Monday February 25
Monday March 4
Monday March 18
Monday April 1
Monday April 15
Monday May 6
Monday May 20
Monday June 3
Monday June 17
Monday July 1
Monday July 15
Monday August 5
Monday August 19
Tuesday September 3
Monday September 16
Monday October 7
Monday October 21
Monday November 4
Monday November 18
Monday December 2
Monday December 16